The Kirk Session

Under the Presbyterian model of church organisation, Crown Court’s spiritual and temporal affairs are governed by its elders – ‘lay’ people ordained to serve.

The body of ordained elders within the congregation is known as the Kirk Session, which meets regularly with the Minister presiding over meetings as Moderator.

The work of Crown Court is carried out by five committees, each convened by an elder.   The conveners can co-opt congregational members and others as required, but the number of non-elders on any committee cannot exceed the number of elders.

The committees and conveners are:

  • Stewardship and Finance: Douglas McNeill
  • Outreach: tbc
  • Education and Development: Jennifer Laird
  • Fabric: Sheila Haddon
  • Pastoral Care: Reverend Philip Majcher